Driving With Suspended License in North Carolina
There are numerous reasons why a driver’s license might be suspended in North Carolina. Driving without insurance, being convicted of DUI/DWI, failing to pay traffic fines and several other violations can possibly lead to an individual having his or her license suspended. This can make it unlawful to legally drive a motor vehicle. Driving with a suspended license can also potentially lead to ever-harsher penalties, including possible jail time.
According to North Carolina traffic laws, a license can also possibly be suspended if a driver accrues too many points under the state DMV’s point system. Each time a driver is convicted of a traffic violation, a number of points corresponding to the given offense may be added to his or her record. For instance, running a stop sign can possibly lead to a driver accruing three points, while passing a stopped school bus can result in five points. Further, commercial drivers can potentially be assigned even more points for each infraction. If a driver accumulates 12 points within three years, his or her license might be suspended for up to two months. If convictions continue to occur, this suspension can last for six or even 12 months.What Happens if You are Caught Driving with a Suspended License?
North Carolina drivers who are accused of driving on a suspended license can possibly face fines between $500 and $2,500 and up to one year of incarceration or probation. A judge in a North Carolina traffic court might also order that the driver complete a certain number of community service hours. Additionally, driving on a suspended license can lead to extension of the initial suspension by one year, with a second conviction possibly causing the suspension to be extended by two years. A third conviction, in addition to incurring more fines and jail time, may lead to a driver losing his or her driving privileges permanently.Contact us for Help if You Have a Suspended Drivers License
If you have had your license suspended or have been charged with driving on a suspended license, you may want to contact experienced North Carolina traffic attorneys such as Powers Landreth PLLC. The compassion and desire to help exhibited by these attorneys may allow them to properly educate their clients about the consequences of driving with a suspended license. Understanding the consequences and the laws surrounding the violation may help a driver fight his or her charges more adeptly.